Posted by: Jennifer Mayerle | December 2, 2011

Quite a Thrill

It’s not actors or sports figures that make me nervous and excited. Great journalists that I admire make my hands sweat. I think we all have a favorite “news person.” At least I know I do.

For as long as I can remember, Tom Brokaw was it. I remember watching the NBC Nightly News at a kid and thinking he was great. At that time, I don’t think I fully appreciated what a fine journalist he was. I just knew that I liked his style. As I got older, I appreciated his story-telling and how I felt connected to what he was saying.

It wasn’t until right before I left for college at the University of San Diego, that I realized I too, wanted to be a story-teller. Brokaw is from South Dakota and his success gave this Midwestern girl from Minnesota the drive to try to be the best story-teller I could be.

A few years ago, I had the chance to meet Brokaw when he was in town talking to the Atlanta Press Club. At the last minute, my schedule was switched and I didn’t get to go. I remember people coming back into the newsroom having just met him. I thought I had missed my only chance.

A second chance came around again in November. I didn’t tell anyone beforehand in case something came up again. Brokaw was again speaking to the Atlanta Press Club, this time about his new book, The Time of Our Lives.

This time the chance didn’t pass me by. It was wonderful to hear him speak and then to meet him afterwards. Tom Brokaw is a one of a kind story-teller.

Responses

  1. What a great picture!! I’m so glad you were able to meet a hero. He’s a favorite of mine also.

  2. Tom Brokaw’s life is now complete!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

